The record
The register's whole coverage to date: the California compliance table, the Australian scheme, the voluntary market with its events dated to their documents, the CDM to Article 6.4 eligibility chapter, and a candidates watchlist. The watchlist is 69 projects the registries have removed, published as candidates with cause not stated, each awaiting a deciding document before it could become an event. Candidates are signals, not losses, and the page keeps them apart from the confirmed record. The eligibility tab now also carries the German UER revocation, an aggregate loss the authority has confirmed while withholding the per-project split. The register adds a cancellations candidates layer: 89 dated cancellation transactions from the open derivative, American Carbon Registry 57, the Reserve 28 and ART TREES 4, totalling 14,647,987 credits between 2017 and 2026, each carried as a candidate with cause not stated. Five of the cancellations are now confirmed and dated at the ACR public register. Edition six contains editions zero, 0.1, one, two, three, four and five.
The whole record in one place, so a holding can be searched once rather than six times. The layers are not commensurable and the table does not pretend otherwise. Every row carries its programme, its unit and its status, and no quantity is summed across programmes, because California is in ARBOCs, Australia in ACCUs and the voluntary layer in credits. Status is the load-bearing column: an event has a deciding document and at least one date; an exposure is a quantity with no date; a candidate is a removal or a cancellation whose cause the source does not state, and is not a loss. Rows for one project sit together: the first row carries the firmest claim and the project's identity, and every row beneath it, marked ↳, says which source it is and how it relates to the row above. Twenty-six projects have rows of more than one kind, and each is one project seen by two sources, not two losses: a deciding document gives the dates and a database or the regulator's table gives the quantity, or a database total sits above the registry transactions that sum to it. Five of the exposure rows carry a figure equal to the project's entire buffer contribution, and each of the five is a project the registry rejected or withdrew: the database files it under reversals, the deciding letters state a status and no quantity, and the row says both rather than choosing. A project can also appear on several rows within one layer, which is one source recording several dated transactions, and is not marked.
| Programme | Project | What | Status | Quantity | Occurred | Became public |
|---|
credits carried against struck projects · denominator: the issuance workbook
39 named events · three carry a bare label
the market's own insurance reserve, sized for a hundred-year obligation · as at 9 December 2025
| Project | Class | Row | Quantity | Occurred | Became public | Evidence |
|---|
21 projects · the basis recorded on each
cumulative relinquished totals; dates from the register Notes
| Project | Name | State | Basis | Occurred | ACCUs |
|---|
These eight projects were undated exposures in edition 0.1. Each is now an event: the project, both dates, the quantity where the deciding document states one, the cause in the document's terms, and the document named. The register holds each document in a retrieval-logged store and cites it; it reproduces no registry page. Where the document states no quantity, the buffer figure in the exposures below is the database's, undated.
26,034 ha excluded from the project area after an unresolved land-title conflict; the verified reductions from the excluded area treated as lost. A buffer cancellation and a replenishment plan were agreed with Verra.
Classdocument silentSub-causereversal_intent_not_statedDetermined byregistryTaxonomyv1.1the loss event report determines that a loss occurred and a buffer cancellation was agreed, but does not state whether the release was with or without intent, and the taxonomy splits reversal on exactly that
Deciding document: Verra loss event report and project review report, on the VCS registry.
Verra opened a quality control review; the grounds and any loss quantity are not stated in the review notification or the completion letter. The buffer figure the VROD database records, 5,049,473, is registry data, carried in the voluntary exposures as undated.
ClasssuspensionSub-causeunder_reviewDetermined byregistryTaxonomyv1.1Verra placed the project under review and later completed the review; the documents state a status change and state no loss quantity, which is section 5's suspension and section 5c's leading indicator
Deciding document: Verra review notification and review completion letter.
one unresolved finding common to all four: alleged falsified documentation and authorisation from local authorities. The buffer quantities are registry data, not decided by the letters.
ClasssuspensionSub-causerejectedDetermined byregistryTaxonomyv1.1four Verra rejection letters of the same date reject the projects after review; a rejection is a project status change, and the letters decide nothing about issued units, so this is section 5's suspension with the registry's own word as the sub-cause. Version 1.0 had no home for it
Deciding document: Four Verra project rejection letters, VCS registry.
emission reductions and removals quantified in excess of the correct amount; the proponent is responsible for remedying the excess.
Classover_crediting_findingSub-causeissuance_in_excessDetermined byregistryTaxonomyv1.1Verra's review completion letter quantifies 699,006 units issued in excess and sets out the remedy; a quantified finding that issuance exceeded the correct amount, determined by the registry. Version 1.0 admitted only an independent finder
Deciding document: Verra review completion letter.
open findings in the project review report the proponent could not address in the extended timeframe; the validation/verification body withdrew the fourth verification statement. Recorded as an eligibility action, not classed as a loss event.
Classeligibility_lossSub-causeverification_statement_withdrawnDetermined byvalidation verification bodyTaxonomyv1.1the validation/verification body withdrew the fourth verification statement, so the units cannot carry it; our own record already states this is an eligibility action and not a loss event
Deciding document: Validation/verification body withdrawal request, VCS registry.
largest eight by credits · denominator: 6,458,623 voluntary-only credits
Exposures: project and quantity, never a date, so each carries occurred not stated. The eight Verra VCS projects are dated as events above; the eight ACR projects await a deciding document. Kariba (VCS902) alone is 5,049,473 of the total, undated.
| Project | Registry | Name | Registry status | Credits |
|---|
joined on the CARB identifier, reversal quantity compared against the issuance workbook
Coherence is not verification. An independent database that carries the same 30 California projects and agrees on 27 to the credit is a second reading of the record. The three that differ are carried as disagreements, never averaged: 83,483 credits, 0.7 per cent of the 12,257,618 California-linked credits the database carries.
| CARB id | VROD id | Column | VROD | CARB | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CAFR5204 | ACR0256 | covered by buffer | 76,257 | 0 | 76,257 |
| CAFR0058 | CAR686 | not covered | 2,657 | 0 | 2,657 |
| CAFR0057 | CAR696 | not covered | 4,569 | 0 | 4,569 |
of 1,512 that requested transition, those with no host-party approval submitted by the 30 June 2026 deadline (decision 20/CMA.7)
the 1,094 by host country · two parties carry ninety per cent
The 1,094 activities carry a combined 158,986,570 tonnes a year of ex-ante first-crediting-period reductions as stated in their CDM design documents. That is a design estimate, not credits issued and not a realised loss. The register carries it as the scale of what lost its path, labelled a design figure, and publishes at summary granularity: the count and the host-party split, not a per-activity loss.
The sources disagree by 35 on approvals received: the UNFCCC dashboard tile reads 453, the file has 418 rows carrying a submission date. The register takes the file, which it can sum, and records the disagreement; on the tile's figure the activities without a path would be 1,059 rather than 1,094.
German authorities cancelled credits across upstream emission reduction projects in China. The action is real and the count is on the record; the split across projects is not, because the authority is withholding it. Resolution status: aggregate confirmed, allocation withheld. Dated public 21 August 2026.
Named context on the record: the developer Beijing Karbon recurs across the projects; among buyers left short, a Belgian subsidiary of ExxonMobil for about 96,000 tonnes (roughly US$4.9m), and Vitol.
These 69 projects are recorded as removed by their registries, cancelled, delisted, terminated, withdrawn, rejected, inactive or on hold. The register carries them as candidates, not losses: the removal is a signal, the cause is not stated, and each awaits a deciding document before it could become an event. None overlaps a project already in the confirmed record above. The source is the Berkeley database's own archive, not any registry's store.
the removal the database records
where the project was listed
| Project | Registry | Name | Status | Scope | Country |
|---|
Eighty-nine cancellation transactions carry a date but no cause. They reach the register through the open derivative, not from any registry store: American Carbon Registry 57, Climate Action Reserve 28 and ART TREES 4, totalling 14,647,987 credits between 2017 and 2026. The register carries each as a candidate awaiting its deciding document, never as a loss. A cancellation can be a reversal, an administrative correction, or for some of the largest ACR entries an early-action compliance conversion; the transaction feed does not say which, so none is classed until its document is read.
Five of these cancellations resolve to a project the American Carbon Registry records as CANCELED on its own public register, retrieved with no account and cited under ACR terms that permit reproducing public-report data. Each is a cancellation confirmed and dated at the issuing registry, with the issued-credit denominator. ACR does not publish the cause, so these are confirmed cancellations, not classified loss events; establishing cause is an investigation, not a public claim.
Confirmed at the ACR public register (ACR0105), retrieved 2026-09-03. Cause not stated by ACR.
Confirmed at the ACR public register (ACR0539), retrieved 2026-09-03. Cause not stated by ACR.
Confirmed at the ACR public register (ACR0507), retrieved 2026-09-03. Cause not stated by ACR.
Confirmed at the ACR public register (ACR0722), retrieved 2026-09-03. Cause not stated by ACR.
Confirmed at the ACR public register (ACR0115), retrieved 2026-09-03. Cause not stated by ACR.
89 transactions, cause not stated
a quantity cancelled, not a loss figure
| Registry | Project | Name | Country | Date | Credits |
|---|
Provenance
The register is live and free to read. Leave your details and we will write when the next edition publishes.
Thank you. You are on the list, and we will write when a new edition publishes.
Independent reads are open. Leave your details and one line about the book, and we will reply.