The record
The register's whole coverage to date: the California compliance table, the Australian scheme, the voluntary market with its events dated to their documents, the CDM to Article 6.4 eligibility chapter, and a candidates watchlist. The watchlist is 69 projects the registries have removed, published as candidates with cause not stated, each awaiting a deciding document before it could become an event. Candidates are signals, not losses, and the page keeps them apart from the confirmed record. Edition three contains editions zero, 0.1, one and two.
credits carried against struck projects · denominator: the issuance workbook
39 named events · three carry a bare label
the market's own insurance reserve, sized for a hundred-year obligation · as at 9 December 2025
| Project | Class | Row | Quantity | Occurred | Became public | Evidence |
|---|
21 projects · the basis recorded on each
cumulative relinquished totals; dates from the register Notes
| Project | Name | State | Basis | Occurred | ACCUs |
|---|
These eight projects were undated exposures in edition 0.1. Each is now an event: the project, both dates, the quantity where the deciding document states one, the cause in the document's terms, and the document named. The register holds each document in a retrieval-logged store and cites it; it reproduces no registry page. Where the document states no quantity, the buffer figure in the exposures below is the database's, undated.
26,034 ha excluded from the project area after an unresolved land-title conflict; the verified reductions from the excluded area treated as lost. A buffer cancellation and a replenishment plan were agreed with Verra.
Deciding document: Verra loss event report and project review report, on the VCS registry.
Verra opened a quality control review; the grounds and any loss quantity are not stated in the review notification or the completion letter. The buffer figure the VROD database records, 5,049,473, is registry data, carried in the voluntary exposures as undated.
Deciding document: Verra review notification and review completion letter.
one unresolved finding common to all four: alleged falsified documentation and authorisation from local authorities. The buffer quantities are registry data, not decided by the letters.
Deciding document: Four Verra project rejection letters, VCS registry.
emission reductions and removals quantified in excess of the correct amount; the proponent is responsible for remedying the excess.
Deciding document: Verra review completion letter.
open findings in the project review report the proponent could not address in the extended timeframe; the validation/verification body withdrew the fourth verification statement. Recorded as an eligibility action, not classed as a loss event.
Deciding document: Validation/verification body withdrawal request, VCS registry.
largest eight by credits · denominator: 6,458,623 voluntary-only credits
Exposures: project and quantity, never a date, so each carries occurred not stated. The eight Verra VCS projects are dated as events above; the eight ACR projects await a deciding document. Kariba (VCS902) alone is 5,049,473 of the total, undated.
| Project | Registry | Name | Registry status | Credits |
|---|
joined on the CARB identifier, reversal quantity compared against the issuance workbook
Coherence is not verification. An independent database that carries the same 30 California projects and agrees on 27 to the credit is a second reading of the record. The three that differ are carried as disagreements, never averaged: 83,483 credits, 0.7 per cent of the 12,257,618 California-linked credits the database carries.
| CARB id | VROD id | Column | VROD | CARB | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CAFR5204 | ACR0256 | covered by buffer | 76,257 | 0 | 76,257 |
| CAFR0058 | CAR686 | not covered | 2,657 | 0 | 2,657 |
| CAFR0057 | CAR696 | not covered | 4,569 | 0 | 4,569 |
of 1,512 that requested transition, those with no host-party approval submitted by the 30 June 2026 deadline (decision 20/CMA.7)
the 1,094 by host country · two parties carry ninety per cent
The 1,094 activities carry a combined 158,986,570 tonnes a year of ex-ante first-crediting-period reductions as stated in their CDM design documents. That is a design estimate, not credits issued and not a realised loss. The register carries it as the scale of what lost its path, labelled a design figure, and publishes at summary granularity: the count and the host-party split, not a per-activity loss.
The sources disagree by 35 on approvals received: the UNFCCC dashboard tile reads 453, the file has 418 rows carrying a submission date. The register takes the file, which it can sum, and records the disagreement; on the tile's figure the activities without a path would be 1,059 rather than 1,094.
These 69 projects are recorded as removed by their registries, cancelled, delisted, terminated, withdrawn, rejected, inactive or on hold. The register carries them as candidates, not losses: the removal is a signal, the cause is not stated, and each awaits a deciding document before it could become an event. None overlaps a project already in the confirmed record above. The source is the Berkeley database's own archive, not any registry's store.
the removal the database records
where the project was listed
| Project | Registry | Name | Status | Scope | Country |
|---|
Provenance
The register is live and free to read. Leave your details and we will write when the next edition publishes.
Thank you. You are on the list, and we will write when a new edition publishes.
Independent reads are open. Leave your details and one line about the book, and we will reply.