Correction notice · added 11 September 2026 · the edition below is unchanged

Twelve California rows in this edition state a became_public date that is wrong in kind. The value given is the date the regulator acted, not the date the incident became public, and when any of the twelve became public is not established. The data files below are published as they were and have not been edited. The corrected rows travel in edition seven.

This notice was added on 11 September 2026. Everything beneath it is the edition exactly as generated on 3 September 2026, and the page as it stood before this notice is kept at its own address with its hash.

The Carbon Loss Register

The record

Edition six: the complete record.

The register's whole coverage to date: the California compliance table, the Australian scheme, the voluntary market with its events dated to their documents, the CDM to Article 6.4 eligibility chapter, and a candidates watchlist. The watchlist is 69 projects the registries have removed, published as candidates with cause not stated, each awaiting a deciding document before it could become an event. Candidates are signals, not losses, and the page keeps them apart from the confirmed record. The eligibility tab now also carries the German UER revocation, an aggregate loss the authority has confirmed while withholding the per-project split. The register adds a cancellations candidates layer: 89 dated cancellation transactions from the open derivative, American Carbon Registry 57, the Reserve 28 and ART TREES 4, totalling 14,647,987 credits between 2017 and 2026, each carried as a candidate with cause not stated. Five of the cancellations are now confirmed and dated at the ACR public register. Edition six contains editions zero, 0.1, one, two, three, four and five.

Edition sixBuilt 3 September 2026Current editionContains 0, 0.1, one, two, three, four and five
The current edition; also at/register/Complete record
Check your own projects against it/register/coverage/Held, nothing held, or outside coverage

The whole record

every layer together · the tabs below open one at a time
12.3M
California credits struck
reversed or invalidated
258,848
Australian ACCUs relinquished
21 projects
6.46M
Voluntary credits, 16 projects
reversed, withdrawn or rejected
1,094
CDM activities lost transition path
eligibility, CDM to Article 6.4
69
Candidates on the watchlist
removed, cause not stated
89
Cancellation candidates
5 confirmed at the register

Every layer, in one table

252 rows · Australia 21 · California 49 · Cancellations 89 · Candidates 69 · Voluntary 24

The whole record in one place, so a holding can be searched once rather than six times. The layers are not commensurable and the table does not pretend otherwise. Every row carries its programme, its unit and its status, and no quantity is summed across programmes, because California is in ARBOCs, Australia in ACCUs and the voluntary layer in credits. Status is the load-bearing column: an event has a deciding document and at least one date; an exposure is a quantity with no date; a candidate is a removal or a cancellation whose cause the source does not state, and is not a loss. Rows for one project sit together: the first row carries the firmest claim and the project's identity, and every row beneath it, marked ↳, says which source it is and how it relates to the row above. Twenty-six projects have rows of more than one kind, and each is one project seen by two sources, not two losses: a deciding document gives the dates and a database or the regulator's table gives the quantity, or a database total sits above the registry transactions that sum to it. Five of the exposure rows carry a figure equal to the project's entire buffer contribution, and each of the five is a project the registry rejected or withdrew: the database files it under reversals, the deciding letters state a status and no quantity, and the row says both rather than choosing. A project can also appear on several rows within one layer, which is one source recording several dated transactions, and is not marked.

ProgrammeProjectWhatStatusQuantityOccurredBecame public
195 distinct projects. No total is shown: the units differ. Counts by programme, Australia 21 · California 49 · Cancellations 89 · Candidates 69 · Voluntary 24

California, the compliance table

the compliance scheme, read to the cell · anchored artefact d7db0f55

By the issuer's own labels

California exposure and incidents, from the CARB issuance workbook

Exposure by class

credits carried against struck projects · denominator: the issuance workbook

Incidents by kind

39 named events · three carry a bare label

The buffer pool, drawn to scale

the market's own insurance reserve, sized for a hundred-year obligation · as at 9 December 2025

24.8%
8.97 Mt retired of 36.23 Mt contributed. Thirteen years into a hundred-year permanence promise, a quarter of the reserve is gone.
8.97 Mt consumed
27.97 Mt remaining

The record, row by row

search, filter and sort every event
Project Class Row Quantity Occurred Became public Evidence
Occurred and became public are two different dates, always shown separately

Australia, at event level

Clean Energy Regulator, ACCU register · CC BY 4.0

Relinquishments by statutory basis

21 projects · the basis recorded on each

Section 88
13 projects
Section 32
2 projects
Sub item 390(5)
2 projects
Voluntary, no notice
3 projects
Not stated
1 projects

What Australia adds

cumulative relinquished totals; dates from the register Notes

258,848 ACCUs
relinquished across 21 projects, 234,106 Kyoto and 24,742 non-Kyoto units, summed from the CER register csv. 20 of 21 reconcile their Notes to the booked total; Milhouse (56 units) is not stated.

The Australian relinquishments

21 of 21 · search, sort
ProjectNameStateBasisOccurredACCUs
Source: cer_direct · CC BY 4.0 · sha256 4c7259ea

Voluntary events, dated to their deciding documents

eight Verra VCS projects · facts and citation, the document not reproduced

These eight projects were undated exposures in edition 0.1. Each is now an event: the project, both dates, the quantity where the deciding document states one, the cause in the document's terms, and the document named. The register holds each document in a retrieval-logged store and cites it; it reproduces no registry page. Where the document states no quantity, the buffer figure in the exposures below is the database's, undated.

VCS1503RESEX Rio Preto-Jacunda REDD+ (Brazil)Reversal
Occurred2012-10-01 to 2020-08-07 (stated as a period)
Became publicnotified to Verra 2024-03-04; acknowledged 2024-04-09; loss event report 2025-10-21; project review report 2025-12-05
Quantity517,631 VCUs (587,367 tCO2e including buffer credits)

26,034 ha excluded from the project area after an unresolved land-title conflict; the verified reductions from the excluded area treated as lost. A buffer cancellation and a replenishment plan were agreed with Verra.

Classdocument silentSub-causereversal_intent_not_statedDetermined byregistryTaxonomyv1.1the loss event report determines that a loss occurred and a buffer cancellation was agreed, but does not state whether the release was with or without intent, and the taxonomy splits reversal on exactly that

Deciding document: Verra loss event report and project review report, on the VCS registry.

VCS902Kariba REDD+ (Zimbabwe)Under review
Occurredplaced under review 2023-10-16; review completed 2026-06-30
Became public2023-10-16 and 2026-06-30 (registry documents)
Quantitynot stated in the deciding documents

Verra opened a quality control review; the grounds and any loss quantity are not stated in the review notification or the completion letter. The buffer figure the VROD database records, 5,049,473, is registry data, carried in the voluntary exposures as undated.

ClasssuspensionSub-causeunder_reviewDetermined byregistryTaxonomyv1.1Verra placed the project under review and later completed the review; the documents state a status change and state no loss quantity, which is section 5's suspension and section 5c's leading indicator

Deciding document: Verra review notification and review completion letter.

VCS1847, VCS1864, VCS1865, VCS2070Four Guizhou afforestation projects (China)Rejected
Occurredreview opened 2024-11-27; rejected 2025-12-12
Became public2025-12-12 (four rejection letters of the same date)
Quantitynot stated in the deciding letters

one unresolved finding common to all four: alleged falsified documentation and authorisation from local authorities. The buffer quantities are registry data, not decided by the letters.

ClasssuspensionSub-causerejectedDetermined byregistryTaxonomyv1.1four Verra rejection letters of the same date reject the projects after review; a rejection is a project status change, and the letters decide nothing about issued units, so this is section 5's suspension with the registry's own word as the sub-cause. Version 1.0 had no home for it

Deciding document: Four Verra project rejection letters, VCS registry.

VCS3018BigCoast Forest Climate Initiative (Canada)Over-issuance remedy
Occurredreview opened 2024-10-24; remedy set out 2025-03-25; replacement deadline 2025-06-03
Became public2025-03-25 (review completion letter)
Quantity699,006 excess (673,710 VCUs + 25,296 buffer credits); 516,408 VCUs cancelled to date, 157,302 remaining to replace, 25,296 buffer credits cancelled

emission reductions and removals quantified in excess of the correct amount; the proponent is responsible for remedying the excess.

Classover_crediting_findingSub-causeissuance_in_excessDetermined byregistryTaxonomyv1.1Verra's review completion letter quantifies 699,006 units issued in excess and sets out the remedy; a quantified finding that issuance exceeded the correct amount, determined by the registry. Version 1.0 admitted only an independent finder

Deciding document: Verra review completion letter.

VCS737TIST Program, Kenya (VCS 005)Verification statement withdrawn
Occurredproject review report 2024-09-20; fourth verification statement withdrawn 2025-02-17
Became public2025-02-17 (registry document)
Quantitynot stated

open findings in the project review report the proponent could not address in the extended timeframe; the validation/verification body withdrew the fourth verification statement. Recorded as an eligibility action, not classed as a loss event.

Classeligibility_lossSub-causeverification_statement_withdrawnDetermined byvalidation verification bodyTaxonomyv1.1the validation/verification body withdrew the fourth verification statement, so the units cannot carry it; our own record already states this is an eligibility action and not a loss event

Deciding document: Validation/verification body withdrawal request, VCS registry.

The voluntary market, as exposures

Berkeley VROD v2026-06 · CC BY 4.0

Sixteen projects the California table never covered

largest eight by credits · denominator: 6,458,623 voluntary-only credits

VCS902 KARIBA REDD+ PROJECT
5,049,473 credits
ACR0781 Nuveen Upper Piedmont
385,129 credits
ACR0539 Puget Sound Energy Bak
334,269 credits
VCS2070 Guinan Afforestation P
191,989 credits
VCS1847 Qianxinan Afforestatio
154,894 credits
VCS1865 Xiguan Afforestation P
125,312 credits
VCS1503 RESEX Rio Preto-Jacund
69,736 credits
VCS737 TIST Program in Kenya,
48,837 credits

Exposures: project and quantity, never a date, so each carries occurred not stated. The eight Verra VCS projects are dated as events above; the eight ACR projects await a deciding document. Kariba (VCS902) alone is 5,049,473 of the total, undated.

The voluntary-only projects

16 of 16 · search, sort
ProjectRegistryNameRegistry statusCredits
Source: Berkeley VROD v2026-06 · CC BY 4.0 · sha256 6068c1bc

A second source, against the California table

27 exact · 3 differ · 0 unmatched

The same database carries 30 of California's projects

joined on the CARB identifier, reversal quantity compared against the issuance workbook

Coherence is not verification. An independent database that carries the same 30 California projects and agrees on 27 to the credit is a second reading of the record. The three that differ are carried as disagreements, never averaged: 83,483 credits, 0.7 per cent of the 12,257,618 California-linked credits the database carries.

CARB idVROD idColumnVRODCARBDifference
CAFR5204ACR0256covered by buffer76,257076,257
CAFR0058CAR686not covered2,65702,657
CAFR0057CAR696not covered4,56904,569
3 disagreements, each carried wholeno cause asserted

Eligibility, the CDM to Article 6.4 transition

UNFCCC transition list · summary granularity · mirror sha256 dbf8416a

1,094 activities lost their transition path

of 1,512 that requested transition, those with no host-party approval submitted by the 30 June 2026 deadline (decision 20/CMA.7)

1,094 activities
requested transition from the Clean Development Mechanism to the Article 6.4 mechanism but had no host-party approval submitted by the deadline; 418 had one, and none was submitted after. An eligibility loss at activity level, not a reversal of issued credits.

Where they sit, by host party

the 1,094 by host country · two parties carry ninety per cent

China
527 activities
India
460 activities
Viet Nam
21 activities
Colombia
15 activities
Republic of Korea
10 activities
Iran (Islamic Republic of)
8 activities
Lao People's Democratic Republic
7 activities
Chile
7 activities
Other, 22 parties
39 activities

What the figure is, and is not

a design figure, not issuance

The 1,094 activities carry a combined 158,986,570 tonnes a year of ex-ante first-crediting-period reductions as stated in their CDM design documents. That is a design estimate, not credits issued and not a realised loss. The register carries it as the scale of what lost its path, labelled a design figure, and publishes at summary granularity: the count and the host-party split, not a per-activity loss.

The sources disagree by 35 on approvals received: the UNFCCC dashboard tile reads 453, the file has 418 rows carrying a submission date. The register takes the file, which it can sum, and records the disagreement; on the tile's figure the activities without a path would be 1,059 rather than 1,094.

Germany, an aggregate revocation

fuel-sector UER, China projects · invalidation / eligibility loss

German authorities cancelled credits across upstream emission reduction projects in China. The action is real and the count is on the record; the split across projects is not, because the authority is withholding it. Resolution status: aggregate confirmed, allocation withheld. Dated public 21 August 2026.

Official
8 projects, 215,000 tonnes refused approval for identified irregularities (159,574 t across seven withdrawn, 55,225 t on one prohibited). The resolved, primary-sourced core. UBA press release 6 September 2024; Bundestag Drucksache 20/13705.
Reported
30 of 45 investigated projects withdrawn, about 2.1 million tonnes claimed. Carried as reported, not as our figure: it traces to a non-public UBA report of mid-January 2026, surfaced through the press, and the government has declined to publish a per-project tonnage. Bloomberg, 21 August 2026. Primary decision: to verify.
Withheld
Per-project identities and tonnages. The authority names six and redacts twenty-four while investigations continue; even the six are not reproduced. Recorded as withheld, with the reason, not left blank. Withholding basis: protection of ongoing proceedings, German UIG.

Named context on the record: the developer Beijing Karbon recurs across the projects; among buyers left short, a Belgian subsidiary of ExxonMobil for about 96,000 tonnes (roughly US$4.9m), and Vitol.

Candidates, a watchlist of removed projects

Berkeley VROD archive · CC BY 4.0 · not confirmed losses

These 69 projects are recorded as removed by their registries, cancelled, delisted, terminated, withdrawn, rejected, inactive or on hold. The register carries them as candidates, not losses: the removal is a signal, the cause is not stated, and each awaits a deciding document before it could become an event. None overlaps a project already in the confirmed record above. The source is the Berkeley database's own archive, not any registry's store.

By registry status

the removal the database records

Delisted
35 projects
Canceled
20 projects
Inactive
4 projects
Rejected by Administrator
4 projects
Withdrawn
3 projects
Terminated
2 projects
On Hold
1 projects

By voluntary registry

where the project was listed

ACR
34 projects
GOLD
18 projects
VCS
9 projects
CAR
8 projects

The candidates

69 of 69 · search, sort
ProjectRegistryNameStatusScopeCountry
Source: Berkeley VROD v2026-06 archive · CC BY 4.0 · sha256 6068c1bc · cause not stated

Cancellations, dated but not yet caused

CarbonPlan OffsetsDB · factual data · not confirmed losses

Eighty-nine cancellation transactions carry a date but no cause. They reach the register through the open derivative, not from any registry store: American Carbon Registry 57, Climate Action Reserve 28 and ART TREES 4, totalling 14,647,987 credits between 2017 and 2026. The register carries each as a candidate awaiting its deciding document, never as a loss. A cancellation can be a reversal, an administrative correction, or for some of the largest ACR entries an early-action compliance conversion; the transaction feed does not say which, so none is classed until its document is read.

Confirmed at the ACR register

five cancellations resolved to the issuing registry · cause not stated

Five of these cancellations resolve to a project the American Carbon Registry records as CANCELED on its own public register, retrieved with no account and cited under ACR terms that permit reproducing public-report data. Each is a cancellation confirmed and dated at the issuing registry, with the issued-credit denominator. ACR does not publish the cause, so these are confirmed cancellations, not classified loss events; establishing cause is an investigation, not a public claim.

ACR0105Boa Vista A/RCANCELED
Cancelled3,673,931 of 3,674,586 issued
Date2017-11-01
Project typeAfforestation and Reforestation of Degraded Land (AR-ACM0001)

Confirmed at the ACR public register (ACR0105), retrieved 2026-09-03. Cause not stated by ACR.

ACR0539Puget Sound Energy Baker-White River Forest Carbon ProjectCANCELED
Cancelled334,269 of 334,269 issued
Date2026-05-26
Project typeImproved Forest Management (IFM) on Non-Federal U.S. Forestlands

Confirmed at the ACR public register (ACR0539), retrieved 2026-09-03. Cause not stated by ACR.

ACR0507Anew - Pennsylvania Ridges Forestry ProjectCANCELED
Cancelled168,471 of 168,471 issued
Date2023-12-28
Project typeImproved Forest Management (IFM)

Confirmed at the ACR public register (ACR0507), retrieved 2026-09-03. Cause not stated by ACR.

ACR0722North Florida Land Trust Forest ConservationCANCELED
Cancelled35,713 of 35,713 issued
Date2025-07-29
Project typeImproved Forest Management (IFM)

Confirmed at the ACR public register (ACR0722), retrieved 2026-09-03. Cause not stated by ACR.

ACR0115Lower Mississippi Valley ReforestationCANCELED
Cancelled14,934 of 14,934 issued
Date2017-08-28..2024-08-27
Project typeAfforestation and Reforestation

Confirmed at the ACR public register (ACR0115), retrieved 2026-09-03. Cause not stated by ACR.

By registry

89 transactions, cause not stated

American Carbon Registry
57 transactions
Climate Action Reserve
28 transactions
ART TREES
4 transactions

The credits behind them

a quantity cancelled, not a loss figure

14,647,987 credits
across 89 transactions. American Carbon Registry carries 13,334,159 across 57 transactions, the Reserve 1,242,728 across 28, and ART TREES 71,100 across 4. A quantity cancelled, not a loss until a document says so.

The cancellations

89 of 89 · search, sort
RegistryProjectNameCountryDateCredits
Source: CarbonPlan OffsetsDB · factual data · mirror sha256 c037be30 · cause not stated

Provenance

CaliforniaCARB issuance workbook (sha256 59be0de2) and buffer series. Edition zero artefact d7db0f55.
Australia, ACCU layerClean Energy Regulator (source 4c7259ea). Layer sha256 3119ebf85b145c69, ledger seq 135. CC BY 4.0.
Voluntary exposures, VRODBerkeley VROD v2026-06 (source 6068c1bc). Layer sha256 93951db6acc0b484, ledger seq 132. CC BY 4.0.
Voluntary eventsPublished as an independently written factual record naming project, dates and deciding document; the documents are held in a retrieval-logged store and never reproduced. Account-less, logged-off retrieval. Right of reply: corrections@kyroq.com.
Eligibility, CDM to Article 6.4UNFCCC transition list, mirrored 2026-09-02, sha256 dbf8416a, ledger seq 140, within the anchored range. Summary granularity; the ex-ante figure is a design figure, not issuance.
Germany, UER revocationAggregate confirmed, allocation withheld (ledger entry forty-two). Official tier: 8 projects, 215,000 t, UBA release 6 September 2024. Reported tier: 30 of 45, about 2.1 million t, Bloomberg 21 August 2026, primary decision to verify, cited as reported and not a Kyroq sum. Withheld tier: per-project identities and tonnages, German UIG. Not a CC BY layer.
Candidates watchlistBerkeley VROD v2026-06 archive sheet (CC BY 4.0, sha256 6068c1bc), anchored via the VROD layer at ledger seq 132. 69 removed projects, carried as candidates with cause not stated, none overlapping the confirmed record. Not losses.
Cancellations candidatesCarbonPlan OffsetsDB cancellation transactions (factual data, Terms of Data Access), mirror sha256 c037be30, layer sha256 1f908481, ledger seq 144. 89 transactions, 14,647,987 credits: ACR 57, Reserve 28, ART 4. Cause not stated on any row; each a candidate awaiting its deciding document. The Reserve rows reach the register through the open derivative, not from the Reserve store.
ACR register confirmationsFive cancellations resolved to the American Carbon Registry public register (greentrace.ice.com), retrieved 2026-09-03, each recorded CANCELED with its issued denominator and cited to the register page, not reproduced. ACR public-report terms permit cited reuse; text and data mining prohibited; no-competitive-use clause noted. Cause not stated by ACR; a cause investigation is a paid read. Boa Vista (ACR0105) is 3,673,931 of the 4,227,318 credits confirmed cancelled.
Ledger anchorCC BY layer data double-witnessed at root dc7e4a2c80102e2b8c293ac398d5d1cf7b50c9256d7cbd32d0c68d74d9c752d0, sequences 1 to 144. Verify on the anchors page.
Externally witnessedfreetsa.org (RFC 3161) and DigiCert timestamp service (RFC 3161), attesting the root at 2026-09-03 20:55:57+00:00 and 2026-09-03 21:05:54+00:00 respectively.
How to citeKyroq, The Carbon Loss Register, edition six (2026), https://kyroq.com/register/edition-six/, anchored at ledger root dc7e4a2c. CC BY 4.0.