Kyroq
The Register ↗Discuss a case ↗
← Carbon Loss Register
Publication history

This reading view uses the published record. The archived page preserves its earlier presentation.

View archived page ↗
View edition ↗
Earlier edition · Check corrections before citing figures or dates ↗
The Carbon Loss Register

The record

Edition 0.1: the complete record.

The register's whole coverage to date, in one place: the California compliance table, the Australian scheme at event level, and the voluntary market as exposures, with an independent second source reconciled against California. Edition 0.1 contains edition zero and adds to it. The discipline is unchanged: every figure travels with its source and its licence, it stays undated where the source carries no date, and the absences are stated in the body.

Edition 0.1Built 3 September 2026Current editionContains edition zero
The current edition; also at/register/Complete record
12.3M
California credits struck
reversed or invalidated
24.8%
California buffer consumed
8.97 of 36.23 Mt
258,848
Australian ACCUs relinquished
21 projects
6.46M
Voluntary credits, 16 projects
reversed, withdrawn or rejected
27 of 30
California projects reconciled
by an independent second source

California, the compliance table

the compliance scheme, read to the cell · anchored artefact d7db0f55

By the issuer's own labels

California exposure and incidents, from the CARB issuance workbook

Exposure by class

credits carried against struck projects · denominator: the issuance workbook

Incidents by kind

39 named events · three carry a bare label

The buffer pool, drawn to scale

the market's own insurance reserve, sized for a hundred-year obligation · as at 9 December 2025

24.8%
8.97 Mt retired of 36.23 Mt contributed. Thirteen years into a hundred-year permanence promise, a quarter of the reserve is gone.
8.97 Mt consumed
27.97 Mt remaining

The record, row by row

search, filter and sort every event
Project Class Row Quantity Occurred Became public Evidence
Occurred and became public are two different dates, always shown separately

Australia, at event level

Clean Energy Regulator, ACCU register · CC BY 4.0

Relinquishments by statutory basis

21 projects · the basis recorded on each · Don Stanley carries a section 88 and a 390(5) notice, booked under section 88

Section 88
13 projects
Section 32
2 projects
Sub item 390(5)
2 projects
Voluntary, no notice
3 projects
Not stated
1 projects

What Australia adds

the register books each project's cumulative relinquished total; the CER holds no per-notice date column, so dates come from the register's dated Notes prose

258,848 ACCUs
relinquished across 21 projects, 234,106 Kyoto units and 24,742 non-Kyoto units, summed from the CER register csv. 20 of the 21 reconcile their Notes quantities to the booked total exactly; Milhouse (ERF111315, 56 units) carries no relinquishment paragraph and its date is not stated.

The Australian relinquishments

21 of 21 · search, sort
Project Name State Basis Occurred ACCUs
Source: cer_direct · CC BY 4.0 · csv sha256 4c7259ea

The voluntary market, as exposures

Berkeley VROD v2026-06 · CC BY 4.0

Sixteen projects the California table never covered

largest eight by credits · denominator: 6,458,623 voluntary-only credits

VCS902 KARIBA REDD+ PROJECT
5,049,473 credits
ACR0781 Nuveen Upper Piedmont
385,129 credits
ACR0539 Puget Sound Energy Bak
334,269 credits
VCS2070 Guinan Afforestation P
191,989 credits
VCS1847 Qianxinan Afforestatio
154,894 credits
VCS1865 Xiguan Afforestation P
125,312 credits
VCS1503 RESEX Rio Preto-Jacund
69,736 credits
VCS737 TIST Program in Kenya,
48,837 credits

These are exposures: the database names the project and the quantity it records as reversed, withdrawn or rejected, and never a date, so each carries occurred not stated. The deciding documents that would date them are being retrieved; for the four Verra projects rejected by the administrator, the documents sit under a licence that does not permit republication and their events are withheld pending that licence and a legal read, so only the database's own exposure and registry status appear here. Kariba (VCS902) alone is 5,049,473 of the total, carried as the database records it, at its buffer quantity, undated.

The voluntary-only projects

16 of 16 · search, sort
Project Registry Name Registry status Credits
Source: Berkeley VROD v2026-06 · CC BY 4.0 · sha256 6068c1bc

A second source, against the California table

27 exact · 3 differ · 0 unmatched

The same database carries 30 of California's projects

joined on the CARB identifier, each project's reversal quantity compared against the issuance workbook

Coherence is not verification. A set of figures that reconciles with itself can still fail to resolve to its source. An independent database that carries the same 30 California projects, and agrees on 27 of them to the credit, is a second reading of the record rather than a restatement of it. The three that differ are carried as disagreements, never averaged. Together they are 83,483 credits, 0.7 per cent of the 12,257,618 California-linked credits the database carries.

CARB idVROD idColumnVRODCARBDifference
CAFR5204ACR0256covered by buffer76,257076,257
CAFR0058CAR686not covered2,65702,657
CAFR0057CAR696not covered4,56904,569
3 disagreements, each carried wholeno cause asserted; the sources' own words are in the reconciliation file

Provenance

California, the compliance tableCARB offset credit issuance workbook (sha256 59be0de2) and the buffer account balance series. Edition zero's anchored artefact, sha256 d7db0f55, from which the California dashboard above is generated. Every California figure resolves to those files.
Australia, ACCU layerClean Energy Regulator, Commonwealth of Australia (source sha256 4c7259ea, mirror dated 31 August 2026). Layer file sha256 3119ebf85b145c69, recorded in the register ledger at sequence 135. Licensed CC BY 4.0.
Voluntary market, VROD layerBerkeley Voluntary Registry Offsets Database v2026-06 (source sha256 6068c1bc, mirror dated 31 August 2026). Layer file sha256 93951db6acc0b484, recorded in the ledger at sequence 132. Licensed CC BY 4.0.
The reconciliationAgainst the CARB workbook (sha256 59be0de2). Reconciliation file sha256 f6136f9b76eb2bc1, ledger sequence 133. 30 California-linked rows, 27 exact, 3 disagreements.
Ledger anchorRoot b8edf82f41a509f87509cdef499f81ba8f0391fbb1250641772b6b3c3dcd8474, covering register-ledger sequences 1 to 140, which include edition zero's artefact and the Australia and voluntary layer records. Verify every root and its tokens on the anchors page.
Externally witnessedfreetsa.org (RFC 3161) and DigiCert timestamp service (RFC 3161), both attesting the root at 2026-09-02 09:12:58+00:00. Two independent authorities, so the attestation holds if either is ever distrusted.
What is undated, and whyVROD names project and quantity but no date, so its exposures carry occurred not stated. ACCU dates are read from the register's dated Notes prose; became public is set to the mirror date because the register records no publication date of its own.
What is withheldThe Verra loss-event documents behind four voluntary VCS projects are under a licence that does not permit republication; their events are withheld pending that licence and a legal read, and only the VROD exposure and registry status appear. A German upstream-emission-reduction revocation reported in August 2026 is held as a candidate off the register until its primary decision is obtained.
DownloadsCalifornia: edition-0-events.csv, incident-series.csv. Australia and voluntary: accu-relinquishments.csv, vrod-voluntary-only.csv, vrod-carb-disagreements.csv. Free to read and cite, CC BY 4.0.