Kyroq
The Register ↗Discuss a case ↗
← Carbon Loss Register
Publication history

This reading view uses the published record. The archived page preserves its earlier presentation.

View archived page ↗
View edition ↗
Earlier edition · Check corrections before citing figures or dates ↗
The Carbon Loss Register

The record

Edition one: the complete record.

The register's whole coverage to date, in three views: the California compliance table, the Australian scheme at event level, and the voluntary market. Edition one dates the voluntary events to their deciding documents: eight Verra projects that were exposures in edition 0.1 are now events, each naming the project, the dates and the document that decided it. The document itself is held and cited, never reproduced. Edition one contains editions zero and 0.1.

Edition oneBuilt 3 September 2026Current editionContains 0 and 0.1
The current edition; also at/register/Complete record
12.3M
California credits struck
reversed or invalidated
258,848
Australian ACCUs relinquished
21 projects
8
Voluntary events dated to a document
Verra VCS projects
6.46M
Voluntary credits, 16 projects
reversed, withdrawn or rejected
27 of 30
California projects reconciled
by an independent second source

California, the compliance table

the compliance scheme, read to the cell · anchored artefact d7db0f55

By the issuer's own labels

California exposure and incidents, from the CARB issuance workbook

Exposure by class

credits carried against struck projects · denominator: the issuance workbook

Incidents by kind

39 named events · three carry a bare label

The buffer pool, drawn to scale

the market's own insurance reserve, sized for a hundred-year obligation · as at 9 December 2025

24.8%
8.97 Mt retired of 36.23 Mt contributed. Thirteen years into a hundred-year permanence promise, a quarter of the reserve is gone.
8.97 Mt consumed
27.97 Mt remaining

The record, row by row

search, filter and sort every event
Project Class Row Quantity Occurred Became public Evidence
Occurred and became public are two different dates, always shown separately

Australia, at event level

Clean Energy Regulator, ACCU register · CC BY 4.0

Relinquishments by statutory basis

21 projects · the basis recorded on each · Don Stanley carries a section 88 and a 390(5) notice, booked under section 88

Section 88
13 projects
Section 32
2 projects
Sub item 390(5)
2 projects
Voluntary, no notice
3 projects
Not stated
1 projects

What Australia adds

the register books each project's cumulative relinquished total; the CER holds no per-notice date column, so dates come from the register's dated Notes prose

258,848 ACCUs
relinquished across 21 projects, 234,106 Kyoto units and 24,742 non-Kyoto units, summed from the CER register csv. 20 of the 21 reconcile their Notes quantities to the booked total exactly; Milhouse (ERF111315, 56 units) carries no relinquishment paragraph and its date is not stated.

The Australian relinquishments

21 of 21 · search, sort
ProjectNameStateBasisOccurredACCUs
Source: cer_direct · CC BY 4.0 · csv sha256 4c7259ea

Voluntary events, dated to their deciding documents

eight Verra VCS projects · facts and citation, the document not reproduced

These eight projects were undated exposures in edition 0.1. Each is now an event: the project, the date it occurred and the date it became public, the quantity where the deciding document states one, the cause in the document's terms, and the document itself named. The register holds each document in a retrieval-logged store and cites it; it never reproduces the registry's own pages. Where the document does not state a quantity, the buffer figure carried in the exposures below is the database's, and stays undated.

VCS1503RESEX Rio Preto-Jacunda REDD+ (Brazil)Reversal
Occurred2012-10-01 to 2020-08-07 (stated as a period)
Became publicnotified to Verra 2024-03-04; acknowledged 2024-04-09; loss event report 2025-10-21; project review report 2025-12-05
Quantity517,631 VCUs (587,367 tCO2e including buffer credits)

26,034 ha excluded from the project area after an unresolved land-title conflict; the verified reductions from the excluded area treated as lost. A buffer cancellation and a replenishment plan were agreed with Verra.

Deciding document: Verra loss event report and project review report, on the VCS registry.

VCS902Kariba REDD+ (Zimbabwe)Under review
Occurredplaced under review 2023-10-16; review completed 2026-06-30
Became public2023-10-16 and 2026-06-30 (registry documents)
Quantitynot stated in the deciding documents

Verra opened a quality control review; the grounds and any loss quantity are not stated in the review notification or the completion letter. The buffer figure the VROD database records, 5,049,473, is registry data, carried in the voluntary exposures as undated.

Deciding document: Verra review notification and review completion letter.

VCS1847, VCS1864, VCS1865, VCS2070Four Guizhou afforestation projects (China)Rejected
Occurredreview opened 2024-11-27; rejected 2025-12-12
Became public2025-12-12 (four rejection letters of the same date)
Quantitynot stated in the deciding letters

one unresolved finding common to all four: alleged falsified documentation and authorisation from local authorities. The buffer quantities are registry data, not decided by the letters.

Deciding document: Four Verra project rejection letters, VCS registry.

VCS3018BigCoast Forest Climate Initiative (Canada)Over-issuance remedy
Occurredreview opened 2024-10-24; remedy set out 2025-03-25; replacement deadline 2025-06-03
Became public2025-03-25 (review completion letter)
Quantity699,006 excess (673,710 VCUs + 25,296 buffer credits); 516,408 VCUs cancelled to date, 157,302 remaining to replace, 25,296 buffer credits cancelled

emission reductions and removals quantified in excess of the correct amount; the proponent is responsible for remedying the excess.

Deciding document: Verra review completion letter.

VCS737TIST Program, Kenya (VCS 005)Verification statement withdrawn
Occurredproject review report 2024-09-20; fourth verification statement withdrawn 2025-02-17
Became public2025-02-17 (registry document)
Quantitynot stated

open findings in the project review report the proponent could not address in the extended timeframe; the validation/verification body withdrew the fourth verification statement. Recorded as an eligibility action, not classed as a loss event.

Deciding document: Validation/verification body withdrawal request, VCS registry.

The voluntary market, as exposures

Berkeley VROD v2026-06 · CC BY 4.0

Sixteen projects the California table never covered

largest eight by credits · denominator: 6,458,623 voluntary-only credits

VCS902 KARIBA REDD+ PROJECT
5,049,473 credits
ACR0781 Nuveen Upper Piedmont
385,129 credits
ACR0539 Puget Sound Energy Bak
334,269 credits
VCS2070 Guinan Afforestation P
191,989 credits
VCS1847 Qianxinan Afforestatio
154,894 credits
VCS1865 Xiguan Afforestation P
125,312 credits
VCS1503 RESEX Rio Preto-Jacund
69,736 credits
VCS737 TIST Program in Kenya,
48,837 credits

Exposures: the database names the project and the quantity it records as reversed, withdrawn or rejected, never a date, so each carries occurred not stated. The eight Verra VCS projects among them are dated as events above; the eight ACR projects await a deciding document. Kariba (VCS902) alone is 5,049,473 of the total, carried as the database records it, undated.

The voluntary-only projects

16 of 16 · search, sort
ProjectRegistryNameRegistry statusCredits
Source: Berkeley VROD v2026-06 · CC BY 4.0 · sha256 6068c1bc

A second source, against the California table

27 exact · 3 differ · 0 unmatched

The same database carries 30 of California's projects

joined on the CARB identifier, each project's reversal quantity compared against the issuance workbook

Coherence is not verification. An independent database that carries the same 30 California projects, and agrees on 27 of them to the credit, is a second reading of the record rather than a restatement of it. The three that differ are carried as disagreements, never averaged. Together they are 83,483 credits, 0.7 per cent of the 12,257,618 California-linked credits the database carries.

CARB idVROD idColumnVRODCARBDifference
CAFR5204ACR0256covered by buffer76,257076,257
CAFR0058CAR686not covered2,65702,657
CAFR0057CAR696not covered4,56904,569
3 disagreements, each carried wholeno cause asserted

Provenance

California, the compliance tableCARB offset credit issuance workbook (sha256 59be0de2) and the buffer account balance series. Edition zero's anchored artefact, sha256 d7db0f55.
Australia, ACCU layerClean Energy Regulator (source sha256 4c7259ea). Layer file sha256 3119ebf85b145c69, ledger sequence 135. CC BY 4.0.
Voluntary exposures, VROD layerBerkeley VROD v2026-06 (source sha256 6068c1bc). Layer file sha256 93951db6acc0b484, ledger sequence 132. CC BY 4.0.
Voluntary events, editorial policyThe eight Verra events are published as an independently written factual record naming the project, the dates and the deciding document (Kyroq editorial policy for registry-cited events). The register retrieves logged off and account-less, holds each deciding document in its evidence store, and reproduces none of the registry's own pages. Each event resolves to its named deciding document; the quantities are the documents' where stated, and not otherwise.
Right of replyA named project or its proponent may reply, and a reply sent for publication goes up as submitted. Corrections publish as new entries with the original preserved: corrections@kyroq.com.
Ledger anchorThe CC BY layer data is double-witnessed at root b8edf82f41a509f87509cdef499f81ba8f0391fbb1250641772b6b3c3dcd8474, ledger sequences 1 to 140. Verify on the anchors page.
Externally witnessedfreetsa.org (RFC 3161) and DigiCert timestamp service (RFC 3161), both attesting the root at 2026-09-02 09:12:58+00:00.
How to citeKyroq, The Carbon Loss Register, edition one (2026), https://kyroq.com/register/edition-one/, anchored at ledger root b8edf82f. CC BY 4.0.